Soul And Fire Is All We Ever Need LP
by Protectors

Protectors - Soul And Fire Is All We Ever Need LP

Bombed Out Records


Yorkshire melody makers Protectors return, reinvigorated, fully charged, and bursting at the seams with a hook laden indie rock monster of an lp.

Via a flurry of releases (debut 10 track lp Can't Shake The Moves, a 12" EP The Stem and Leaf and single Hard Times on Wakefield's Philophobia Music label), Protectors have evolved slowly but surely from a jangly 90's guitar pop 3-piece to a 5-piece juggernaut of melodic and harmonious full-on indie rock, garnering them comparisons to the likes of Jimmy Eat World, Guided by Voices and Superchunk.

Where initial releases were full of songs about kicking about their cobbled West Yorkshire streets Soul and Fire..., produced by Matt Peel (Eagulls, Pulled Apart by Horses), sees Protectors expand the standard indie rock template to weave innovative songwriting together with gorgeous harmonies, deft piano touches and rocking guitar riffs. Soul and Fire... is an incredibly deliberate, mature and emotional affair, and all 9 tracks are full of hooks and earworms.

From the opening and pounding thrill of Old Microscopes, the uplifting drive of No Satellites, and the gentle melancholy of the 6 minute plus encore "Reminder" - a mesmerizing track which takes time to build and provides a glorious finale to the collection of pop gems, Soul and Fire... is an exhilarating listen. These new tracks work in the anthemic qualities that made Chris's previous band Pylon such a draw, establishing them as a key indie-rock influence to UK DIY pop punk bands such as Dugong and Above Them.

LP comes on solid green vinyl.


  1. Old Microscopes
  2. Fighting for our lives on Holy Island Ice
  3. Four Sevens
  4. Uniform
  5. No Satellites
  6. South Carolina
  7. Belt
  8. The Statisticians' Ball
  9. Reminder

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 02 March, 2015.

Also purchased

Customers that bought this also bought:

About us

Bombed Out Records is a non-profit, do-it-yourself record label based in Leeds and Harrogate in the UK. Our first record was released in 1998.

We've released records by: The Amistad, Blocko, The Brown Hound James Band, Caves, The Dauntless Elite, Dropnose, Dugong, Eighty Six, Fig. 4.0, Homebrew, Jets Vs Sharks, Joe Ninety, Kelly 8, The Leif Ericsson, The Mercy Suite, Peachfuzz, Remainderfour, Saturday's Kids, Slow Science, The Take, Wooderson and Zapiain.

Please get in touch for trades/wholesale enquiries.